Bread & Pickle

I received good news this morning in the form of a fantastic reminder about what quickly became one of my favorite little spots to unwind last year.  Now, shhhhh!  Don’t tell anyone, but Bread & Pickle is pretty much the epitome of one of the things that makes me happy as a lark to be a member of the six-one-two.

I have a bigger secret, and it’s one that makes me hang my head in shame.  I love Starbucks.  I mean, I really, really love Starbucks.  Every stinkin’ morning except for a few here and there, I have made my pilgrimmage to the ‘Bucks for a latte.  Usually a vanilla latte, though I have dabbled with others.  I’m even more ashamed to say that I drive past many fine privately run coffee shops to get one.  I’ve tried to like some others, whose names I won’t mention because what I’m about to say is, I just don’t like them as much.  Whew~  It feels so good to get that off my chest.  I’ve been carrying this shame for three long years!  The point of my confession this morning is this…back to Bread & Pickle…I love, love, LOVE their lattes!  So, on mornings when I have a tad extra leisure time, you can find me there instead of at, ahem, that other place.  There’s one more thing I love about the a.m. at B&P and you can read about it here.  There isn’t a better way to enjoy life in this fine city of ours on a warm, sunny, summer morning than sitting lakeside for a few moments sipping one of their lattes and munching on one of their sammys. Consider it my morning sun salutation.  You should give it a whirl.

Can’t make it in the a.m. for a little java meditation?  Come later for a burger and some perfectly crisp fries.  Other than said lattes, I consider myself a fry foodie.   If I’m going to indulge, they better be good.  Fries should be crisp on the outside, not too greasy, and you should still be able to tell that they were made from a fresh potato on the inside.  They should be soft and full of spud splendor, but don’t forget that “crisp on the outside” part…soggy won’t cut it.  And they should be salted, but not too much.  They shouldn’t be overpowered for the seasoning.  Let the potatoey goodness shine, people…I don’t want a salt lick.  That said, Bread & Pickle has got it down.  Their fries are near perfection and I have been seen sitting on the edge of the wall out front, feet dangling down toward the waters of Lake Harriet, city ducks swirling around me, and partaking in a bag of these beauties.

So, now that the birds are chirping, the flowers are blooming, and the sun is (sometimes) shining in the six-one-two, you can enjoy any of the above during the following hours.  Welcome back, B&P…I’ve missed you~

Open M-F 11am-7pm and Sat & Sun 7am-7pm through April 29th. Open 7am-9pm daily starting April 30th

~ by KJ on April 18, 2012.

One Response to “Bread & Pickle”

  1. […] gastronomic road trips, Cooks of Crocus Hill will take over the Chef’s Gallery in Stillwater, thoughts on Bread and Pickle (our own thoughts are here), high praise for the Kalbi pork sandwich from the Get Sauced food […]

Leave a comment